Curried Tofu & Samosa Quinoa

‘Ello! I’m in the process of moving over some older recipes from my original  Veganizzm website, so if you’ve been riding the V-train for a while you might see some oldie-but-goodie recipes. Enjoy! 

 IMG_1409

IMG_1433

There are two kinds of people on this earth: those who believe vegan food can be deliciousflavorfultastysatifaction@thebomb.com and those who should stop reading this blog right now. I have some spite in my heart for the fact that vegan meals are so often castigated as bland, dense, and unsatisfying. That’s why I like this Samosa Quinoa. It’s a total mythbustah! I thought this recipe made up about three years ago while improvising from a samosa recipe and I haven’t looked back since. I’ve made it countless times and always get positive feedback from even the most skeptical oh-i-guess-I’ll-try-your-rabbit-I-mean-vegan-food eaters. Most importantly, I really like it.

IMG_1412

This time around I tried something a little different. I used all of my normal flavorites but tried something a lil’ funky and new. I started by frying just the tofu in ginger, garlic, jalapeño pepper, a small amount of oil, and lots of spices. The tofu was much more flavorful than the other times I’ve made this dish and from now on I’m fo sho using this method! The new and improved recipe is as follows:

  • 2 cups dry quinoa
  • 1 lb potatoes (about 2 medium), peeled, diced, & boiled
  • 14 oz. extra-firm tofu, pressed & diced into 1/4” cubes
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 medium tomato, diced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1 small jalapeño pepper, minced (optional)
  • 1/2-3/4 cup water
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 2 teaspoons turmeric or curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 Tablespoons maple syrup
  • chopped cashews (optional garnish)

1. Cook the quinoa in 4 cups water or vegetable stock for 20-25 minutes, until fluffy.

2. Place a skillet on medium heat with a few Tablespoons of olive or vegetable oil. Add ginger, garlic, jalapeño pepper, onion, tofu, plus a pinch each of salt and pepper. Sauté for 6-7 minutes, stirring constantly and adding a drizzle of oil if the tofu sticks. Add 1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon coriander, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1 teaspoon turmeric/curry powder, and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon. Mix well and cook for an additional 5-6 minutes.IMG_1408

3. Add boiled potatoes, 1/2 cup water, diced tomatoes, chopped bell pepper, and frozen peas to the skillet. Heat until the mixture starts to bubble, adding 1/4-1/2 cup more water if the mixture is very thick. Simmer the mixture for 10 more minutes then transfer to a large bowl.

4. Combine quinoa and the tofu/vegetable mixture and add the remaining spices (1 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon coriander, 1/2 teaspoon cumin, 1 teaspoon turmeric/curry powder, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon), 1 Tablespoon lemon juice, and 2 Tablespoons maple syrup. Mix thoroughly. Garnish with chopped cashews.

IMG_1437 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Curried Tofu & Samosa Quinoa

  1. mytsanti

    Quinoa is expensive and hard to find where I come from. Can I use short-grain rice or brown rice instead because of its availablity?

    • Definitely! The best part of this dish (in my opinion) is that it takes the tasty filling of a samosa and leaves out the hassle of wrapping them or frying them. So, yes, I think a grain like brown or white rice would work well here.

Leave a Reply

