Candied Ginger Ginger Snaps

DSC_0048

There’s nothing quite like when you’re standing on a chair Christmas morning photographing cookies in a sports bra and high-waisted sweatpants from your 6th grade swim team and your dad strolls in.

My Dad is very supportive of my blogging and likes all the cookies he gets when I test out new recipes, but this is undeniably a weird situation to walk in on. He responded by turning on his heel and announcing he was going upstairs to fold socks. Running this blog (as many of you other food bloggers know!) involves loads of behind-the-scenes grocery runs, flour-sifting, pot-cleaning, table-arranging, chair-standing, photo-snapping, picture-editing, and Dad-explaining. And I love every single part of it! 2013 has been a an exciting year, much of which I’ll get to in the next couple posts before the year is over. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: thanks for reading, writing with comments, and generally supporting Veganizzm as it continues to grow. Merry Christmas however you choose to celebrate (or not celebrate) this year. Movies and Chinese food are a great way to spend December 25th, too!

DSC_0040

Anyhow, onto the recipe! These ginger snaps are INTENSE in the best way possible. Ginger is an amazing flavor and I decided to go all the way with double gingery goodness and hot diggity dawg it paid off. I may or may not be getting crumbs all over my keyboard as I type this. Make a batch for family, friends, coworkers, or you and your keyboard cat this holiday season!

DSC_0051

DSC_0036

Candied Ginger Ginger Snaps

Adapted from Food.com

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup chopped candied ginger

Preheat oven to 350ยบ

1. Sift the flour, baking powder, and spices into a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine the oil, molasses, water, vanilla, and sugar. Mix or whisk to combine.

2. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Stir well to combine and mix in the chopped candied ginger.

3. Form the dough into teaspoon-sized smooth balls. Pressing down with the back of a fork, make a hashtag shape (#yolo). Sprinkle with sugar and pop these puppies in the oven for 10 minutes, or until very lightly golden and firm. Allow to cool and enjoy!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Candied Ginger Ginger Snaps

  1. Intense is the way I like my ginger, so these cookies sound fantastic! Even better yet, I’m pretty sure I have all of the ingredients on hand, so I can get baking right away. This might be a project for tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

